Lent is the liturgical season of forty days which begins with Ash Wednesday and ends on the celebration of the Paschal Mystery (Easter Triduum).

Lent is primarily a penitential season in the Church's liturgical year, reflecting the forty days Jesus spent in the desert in fasting and prayer.

"The seasons and days of penance in the course of the liturgical year (Lent, and each Friday of the year in memory of the death of Our Lord), are intense moments of the Church's penitential practice.  These times are particularly appropriate for spiritual exercises, penitential liturgies, pilgrimages as signs of penance, voluntary self-denial such as fasting, almsgiving, and fraternal sharing (charitable and missionary works)."  CCC1438

Stations of the Cross are prayed each Friday in Lent at 7:00pm.

Ash Wednesday     March 2

Laetare Sunday     March 27

Palm Sunday     April 10

Holy Thursday of the Lord's Supper     April 14

Good Friday of the Lord's Passion     April 15

Easter Vigil, Holy Night of Easter     April 16

Easter Sunday     April 17

* Unless otherwise noted, all text is taken in whole or part from  the Catechism of the Catholic Church Glossary ©2000