top of page


Easter is the greatest and oldest Christian feast, which celebrates Christ's Resurrection from the dead. Easter is the "feast of feasts," the solemnity of solemnities, the "Great Sunday."

Christians prepare for it during Holy Week, and catechumens are usually receive the Sacraments of Initiation (Baptism, Confirmation, Eucharist) at the Easter Vigil. 

"Beginning with the Easter Triduum as its source of light, the new age of the resurrection fills the whole liturgical year with its brilliance....  It really is a 'year of the Lord's favor.' The economy of salvation is at work within the framework of time, but since its fulfillment in the Passover of Jesus and the outpouring of the Holy Spirit, the culmination of history is anticipated as a foretaste, and the kingdom of God enters into our time".  CCC1168

"In the liturgical year the various aspects of the one Paschal mystery unfold. This is also the case with the cycle of feasts surrounding the mystery of the Incarnation (Annunciation, Christmas, Epiphany). They commemorate the beginning of our salvation and communicate to us the first fruits of the Paschal mystery."  CCC1171



Easter Sunday     March 31

Octave of Easter     March 31- April 6

Divine Mercy Sunday     April 7

Pentecost Sunday     May 19

* Unless otherwise noted, all text is taken in whole or part from  the Catechism of the Catholic Church Glossary ©2000 

bottom of page