top of page

Ordinary Time

Christmas Time and Easter Time highlight the central mysteries of the Paschal Mystery, namely, the incarnation, death on the cross, resurrection, and ascension of Jesus Christ, and the descent of the Holy Spirit at Pentecost.


The Sundays and weeks of Ordinary Time, on the other hand, take us through the life of Christ. This is the time of conversion. This is living the life of Christ.


Ordinary Time is a time for growth and maturation, a time in which the mystery of Christ is called to penetrate ever more deeply into history until all things are finally caught up in Christ.


The goal, toward which all of history is directed, is represented by the final Sunday in Ordinary Time, the Solemnity of Our Lord Jesus Christ, King of the Universe.

First Week Ordinary Time, Monday     January 10

Tenth Week Ordinary Time, Monday     May 29

Solemnity of the Ascension of the Lord     May 9

Feast of Corpus Christi     June 2

Solemnity of the Most Sacred Heart of Jesus      June 7

Assumption of the Blessed Virgin     August 15

Solemnity of Our Lord, Christ the King     November 26

bottom of page